#ILoveWynonnaEarp

At first I was skeptical, but Wynonna Earp is the type of show I’ve been waiting for. It’s smart, funny and sexy and gives me a serious case of “new show” excitement. Every week I can’t wait for the next episode.

So Wynonna Earp was developed by Emily Andras ( Lost Girl), and the show is basically about the great grand daughter of Wyatt Earp, Wynonna who ends up back in her home town of Purgatory( I know right name for a town)  and has to basically fight resurrected criminals called  Revanants that  her great  grand father took down a long time ago, and in doing so she can hopefully  find a way to break the curse that is on her family.

 

As I said I was skeptical about the show. Why? Well I had seen a lot of mixed comments about it, but also as someone who watches a lot of TV I didn’t want to get invested in the show in case it got cancelled, something that has happened to me in the past ( Looking at you Minority Report). I understand though no TV shows future is safe, there is always that uncertainty, but  I have my fingers crossed for Wynonna Earp to have many season because it deserves it.

What initially caught my eye about the show is the blossoming relationship between Waverly Earp ( Wynonna  sister) and Officer Nicole Haught ( Pronounced HOT) because who doesn’t enjoy a good old lesbian interest between two characters especially if it looks promising .So for the most part I didn’t really about anything else on the show, however what really  got me to say “screw it”  watch the show was twitter. A lot of people I followed  were watching it and talking about it every week. I felt like I was missing out on something amazing, and Oh boy was  I.

In the first few minutes of the Pilot episode I was really intrigued by Wynonna and just her attitude to things. She kind of reminded me of Jessica Jones in the sense of having an unapologetic  damaged quality about her and only really caring about a few things such as her sister, and I really enjoy seeing writers have females leads that aren’t perfect and have issues and  god Wynonna has issues, but she still also a likeable character.

Also as someone who is an aspiring writer, I really enjoy the writing on the show and how funny it is. I mean some of Wynonna lines really have me in stitches where I’m like I can’t believe she just said that.  The show and writing really gets me excited the way the writing on Buffy did especially this type of genre where the writing can be lacking sometimes.

Another thing I really love about the show is the Waverly and Wynonna dynamic, as someone who has sisters, I can understand how strong that bond is, and despite their differences they always have each other backs no matter the situation.  And even though Waverly is  the younger sister it’s obvious  she helps keep part of Wynonna grounded but also sane with the whole Revenant killing and being the chosen one to break the Earp Curse.She like her anchor and it just melts my hear.

Now even though the show has a female lead, we can’t forget the  men of the show. It interesting as someone who  enjoys female characters a lot I tend to not really care much about male character these days but there is something about the character of Xavier Dolls and  Doc Holliday that give me a bit of a buzz.

What’s really interesting about the show and what I love are these two characters is their interaction with Wynonna as it’s obvious they both have really  good chemistry with her, and hence shipping comes into play. To add to this another thing that I also really love is how Wynonna isn’t pining over these two guys or even talking about them romantically,  I mean yes you’ve seen the odd flirtation with both, but  I think thats just very true to her character and it obvious Wynonna isn’t going to let a man get in her way, however I really do ship her with Dolls, and with that being said I really like their relationship. I like the back the forth the two  have despite Dolls being quite up tight and very mysterious, but  with his  interaction around Wynonna  we see moments of his softer side  and it obvious he really cares for Wynonna and also has her back too.

Moving away from talking about Dolls, I really want to talk about Doc Holliday.  With the show there are different things about each characters I love, but the way Tim Rozon (who I absolutely hated on Lost Girl as Massimo btw) plays Doc Holliday is like my new favourite thing. I can’t help but be attracted to him, and  what I love most about his character is not knowing whether he’s a good or bad guy which is always fun to see on a show.

I also think the reason I  really like his character, is because he reminds me of Spike from Buffy with his charm and flirtation and only doing thing help himself, however being drawn to wanting to help Wynonna like Spike with Buffy.

Finally I’m in love with this show. I think everyone should be watching it, because it’s just brilliant. The whole concept and characters really excite me and  as kid this was the kind of genre growing I really enjoyed, but when the age of vampires hit and  a lot of supernatural fantasy shows were being made I sort of got tired this  of this genre and these type of show, however Wynonna Earp has given me a new hope for this type of genre, and I can’t wait to see where the show goes.

 

Leave a Reply

